Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that humans cannot be a factor in species' extinction in Kaliko islands based on few assumptions. Based on few assumptions, it concludes that some climate or other environmental factor has caused the species' extinction. If the assumptions are invalid, then it undermines the validity of the argument.

Firstly, it assumes that humans are not factor in species' extinction as there is no evidence that humans have been in contact with the mammals. This assumption is invalid for the following factors. The first factor is there may be chances that people have not discovered those evidences where humans have been in contact with mammals. Second factor is humans need not be in significant contact to cause the species' extinction. If humans pollute the environment in Kaliko islands, then environmental pollution can cause the species' extinction and in this way humans can be indirect factor in the extinction.

Secondly, the argument assumes that humans cannot have hunted the mammals as archaeologists did not find any areas containing the bones of large mammals. There is possibility that there are hidden areas in the islands which have not been discovered by archaeologists where humans might have hunted the mammals. Thus, if the assumption is invalid, then it undermines the conclusion. Even if the assumption is valid, it cannot support the conclusion as hunting is not the only way which causes the species' extinction.

The argument concludes that humans are not a factor in species' extinction as they did not find any evidence of humans hunting the mammals and humans being in significant contact with the mammals. The argument does not take all factors which cause species' extinction into consideration. The argument does not address all the factors that cause species' extinction. It takes only two factors into consideration and concludes based on it. The conclusion and the argument on which it is based will be valid only when when there is significant evidence to support it.