In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author of the argument claims that the number of accidents can be decreased if the Prunty County undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago instead of lowering its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. The author must provide some concrete evidence to strengthen the argument.

Firstly, the author must provide evidence to weaken the argument that lowering the speed limit will not reduce the number of accidents because based on the reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. It may be the reason for the constant or increase in the number of the accidents as most of the drivers have not lowered their speed limit. There is a possibility for the decrease in the number of accidents if the strict regulations like lowering their speed limit are followed by the most of the people driving on all county highways.

Secondly, the author must provide evidence that the number of accidents will definitely decrease if the Prunty County undertakes the similar kind of road improvement project that Butler county completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. There must be some evidence that the lane widths of Prunty County are narrower than Brunty County and there are many rough highways in Prunty county than Brunty county because there is a possibility that Prunty County already has all the facilities that Brunty County completed five years ago. In this case, it would be waste of time and money implementing same kind of road improvement project that Butler county completed five years ago. Also one cannot guarentee for same kind of improvement in Prunty County because Prunty county and Brunty county will be different in many aspects.

Thirdly, the author must tell the number of accidents rather than the percentage of accidents to support the argument that there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago though Butler County roads have a 55 mph speed limit. Because percentage cannot give accurate estimate of the number of accidents.

The author must provide all the above evidences to support the argument that the accidents will decrease in Prunty County if it undertakes the similar kind of road improvement project that Butler county completed five years ago.