Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The argument states that society should only help in the conservation of species which are on the verge of extinction if it is a result of human activity and not otherwise.I agree with the above statement because of the reasons and logical arguments discussed in the consequent paragraphs.

Firstly, if you consider the factors that lead to extinction of a species it may be divided into two broad categories. The extinction can be because of natural adaptation or human interference with natural habitat. If it is because of natural adaptation and the species not being able to adapt over generations it is better not to disturb the natures order. For example, imagine if big reptiles never went extinct, it would have been impossible for many life forms to evolve in wetland environments as they would have constantly fallen prey to such reptiles. As a result the current biodiversity could have been non-existent. Also, according to the famous theory of evolution, “Survival of the fittest”, mother nature itself has evolutionary reasons to make some species extinct. On the other hand if the extinction of species happens due to man made conditions it is causing loss to the ecosystem which may have consequences on the food chain.

In another scenario consider a species that is domesticated by humans and forcefully reproduced to prevent them from extinction. This may cause the gene pool of the next generations to shrink, risking low resistance among the population of species to withstand natural disasters. For example, years of selective breeding of dogs and cats have led to various health issues among the current population, reducing life expectancy and pushing them towards the edge of extinction in near future. The impact is not only related to animal species but to plants too. Years of selective breeding by humans for agriculture has made so many grains and fruits less resistant to pests, increasing the likelihood of extinction.

Thirdly, consider the extinct species of parasites and bacteria that went extinct due to natural selection. Had those still been in existence because of human conservation it could have led to pandemic and outbreak of plagues. Besides, we can not ignore the valuable learning derived due to the evolution process and studying the species undergoing natural selection. Scientists now can simulate the process that led to extinction of some species, learning valuable insight on natural intelligence. Had this species never gone extinct we would have not seen many scientific breakthroughs in various sectors derived from such research.

To conclude, it's better to let the process of evolution decide which species should thrive on the earth rather than humans deciding it. It only looks ideal in the screenplay to have a place like Jurassic park rather than humans being really able to control it and create a tragic end for ourselves like depicted in the movie.