Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible

The above argument is that some people believe corporations operating in particular place have a responsibility to promote social and environmental well being and while others agree the only responsibility is to make more profit. I agree with the former belief. In the following paragraphs I would like to present reasons for my belief.

Firstly, the corporations in a particular place are the result of a unique environmental and social structure favorable for them to flourish. For example, consider a company that operates by exporting the fish harvested from the ocean or farms near other water bodies, had the location and natural elements been not favorable it would have been impossible for the company to grow over time. Also the local labor force plays a crucial rule in daily operations, so to ensure the welfare of the people and the immediate enivornment is critical. If for example the company keeps on overfishing without caring for the environmental impact they may soon run out of fish and the long term sustainability of the corporation will be at stake.

Secondly, imagine a company that operates in niche domains for example the swiss watch manufacturing industry. It is crucial that in order to maintain their monopoly and brand image they regularly look after the social welfare of the employees and the people in the vicinity of that location. If the company is unable to retain the talent and local population workforce it may see an effect on quality of products and eventual decline in market share.

Thirdly, look after industries that are in the food processing business. For instance consider the region in France famous for its wine production. For centuries the symbiotic relationship between the farmers who grow the grapes and the industry that processes them has been beneficial to both. If the corporation does not ensure social and environmental well being of the region it may result in decrease in quality of grapes or the migration of new generation to different lucrative careers which may result in loss for both the industry and the local population.

Thus, on the basis of the above highlighted issues it may be beneficial for the corporation to look after the social and environmental welfare of the region in which it operates. As a result you would see many corporations operating their Corporate Social Responsibility division as an independent entity to serve such kind of concerns.