Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

The basic definition for ‘Ecosystem’ is a model in which each component is in some way linked to each other to function properly. Frequent interventions of external factors could deeply impact the functioning of the ecosystem which could result in complete failure of the whole system. However when endangered species in society is on the stage of potential extinction then, in my opinion, there should be at least some provision, although it is caused as the result of human activities or not they should at least be some sort of help from human, for the following few reasons.

To begin with, most of the causal effects on the ecosystem are due to humans, as homo-sapiens are the most advanced species in terms of cerebral limits. So when an endangered species is on the verge of extinction there should be some help provided in order to protect them. In 2008 there was an extensive research done on a mammal entitled ‘platypus’ as it was the only mammal alive that reproduced by giving eggs, as a result of extensive research activity plethora of platypus were killed for so-called ‘research purposes’. This incident of extinction was a direct result of human action and not until it was too late for the researchers to realize the effect, they decided to stop their research. Thus society should make efforts to save endangered species.

However, if the result of extinction is caused due to natural activities then it should be considered as the ecological process of species survival and evolution. In 1870 a scientist named Darwin proposed a theory entitled “Survival of the fittest”, according to this theory our ecosystem selects the species which have the highest will to survive and the lower ones get extinct. Although if this theory holds true there should be at least some provision provided for the potential species to survive at least for some more time.

Thus in my opinion, although it is caused as the result of human activities or not they should at least be some sort of help from humans.