Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Many animals on the earth have enlisted in the group of potential extinct species for this, reasons are many. Be it the poachers, natural calamities, or preying on some other creature. The subsequent effects are is that , it will substantiate the rate of diminishing and eventually lead to complete disappearance. The prompt says that, people should make an effort to save the potential extinct animals only if they are the cause for the extinct, otherwise there is no preventive action necessary on the part of humans, if there are any other cause of the extinction. I completely disagree with the prompt, because it's imperative to have all species on Earth and it is the onus on human beings to have them existing, disregard of the source of their threat.

Firstly, animals like elephant, rhyno are in demand for their horns in the market. Poachers kill these animals for financial gains and is always sold in black market. Such animals which are endangered by humans should be immediately stopped by imposing heavy penalty and life time imprisonment for people who indulge in such activities. Skin of tiger and hiana are other few examples where the human beings are the reason for their extinct. Imposing severe measures and high penalty, we can check the extinction these wild animals.

Secondly, wild animals which prey on other animals who are on the verge of extinct have to be saved by different measures. These animals has to be regularly rehabilitated and nurtured in the controlled camps. Regular survey should be conducted of these animals. Rehabilitation camps should also take care of their sex ratio of those animals so that they are able to reproduce and maintain the existance of the species. Mysore zoo in India, hosted the similar camp to save white tigers and they were successful to maintain these species. Recording their population, releasing few animals to wild forest if they overflow are few other activities that should be carried out on timely bases.

Admitely, there are species which are life threatening to existence of humans. Dianasours, which existed few centuries ago; wouldn't have made human life possible to exist at ease to which we are living now. These animals, were killed by the natural disaster like meteor. Meteor, striking the earth surface those days were usual which contributed to the disappearance of the huge mammoth. For reasons like such where human beings cannot do anything is an exception. However, recently the fire in wild forest that killed many animals in Australia, could have been saved with a prompt action. Sadly, that didn't happen and there was a huge loss to the wildlife. These measure should be implemented, and the department of forest should be provided with enough resources to cater such natural calamities and save wildlife.

In sum, humans should make every effort to save the possible extinct species, be it on the surface of earth or in the ocean, few natural disaster for which humans can't do much - meteore striking the earth - however other man made disasters and natural disasters have to be mitigated in the interest of preserving our engendered animals.