The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People are the true representative of a nation. The standard of living, per capita, and the satisfactory index of a common citizen are the pivotal role to decide whether the nation is developed or not. The prompt says that the great nation is represented by the achievement of the leaders, scientist, artist and common people have no role to play. I disagree with this due to the following reasons .

Firstly, the living conditions of the people are the paramount to any nation. India being the densely populated country has many great scientist and leaders. Mahatma Gandhi , a great freedom fighter was undoubtedly the top freedom fighter who's contributions to the freedom is immense. However, this merely doesn't define the greatness of the nation. The greatness of the nation in true essense lies in the living conditions of the citizens, how each individual contributes to the towards the betterment of mankind. These factors categorically has considerable influence on the economy of the nation, and to the upliftment of the society thereby representing the greatness of the nation.

Secondly, leaders as individuals cannot stand by themselves to achieve their goals. Its the people's support that is imperative. Abraham Lincoln, never would have fought successfully against the oppression of the black Americans in United states unless he was successful in persuading the large crowed. Ofcourse, the leaders goals should align the peoples intension to bolster their support.

Nevertheless, it is the individuals that makes the prominent impact to represent the nation. Scientist like Nicolos Tesla contribution to the society is huge and he being the front runner dictated the world with his inventions. Thomas eddison invented bulb which completely revolutionised the world, these inventions are not negligible and truly represents the prominence in the nation. But, they are not standalone to represent the whole nation. People as whole makes the nation, not the individual , who may be avant garde in their subjective fields.

In sum, individual contributions are always needed in the nation in the form of leaders, scientist, arts etc who can lead in their respective areas, however they should not be considered as the nation representatives. General public of the nation are the one who makes things possible and they; without their support nation will disintegrate to pieces