Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Political leaders, are the imperative part of our governing system, as their policies and decision are directly affected the common man's life. The prompt tells us that ,few people recommend political leaders should follow public opinion and leaving their particular principle behind, while others opins to stick to their core principle policies. I do not completely agree that the politician should completely adhere to public opinion , rather they should augment the opinions to their core principles only if it serves majority of people to better serve the peoples mandate . Following are the reasons.

Firstly, public opinion doesn't represents the majority of the people in the governing area ,incorporating such a opinion in their policies would only benefit a handful of people. For instance the article from a local newspaper "First Post" OPed published an article saying to have a increased remittance on a loss of private property, however the core policies didn't have the clause to add such policies. Moreover, it turned out that the article was based on a survey which includes people who had special interest and would be benefited largely. Therefore , inheriting these policies will never serves myriad of people and eventually people are ought to vote out.

Secondly , the survey may also have a hidden agenda to take down the ruling party. Such ulterior motives however should not affect the public facilities , rules and regulations. The iconoclast entity with records public suggestions, proposed to have a heavy tax duty in a agricultural products. Although the government discarded the proposal, there was a massive protest against the policy that gave rise to disruption for a while.

However, there are instance where the opinion really addressed large public problems. Increase the pension of veterans , the decision which was implemented lately based on the public survey was much needed and the majority of the people admired the move. Although he policies uncovered the scheme , it was only possible due proper unbiased assessment of public survey.

In sum, I support the idea that the new policies can be added to the core principles of leaders provided they do not contradict the entire principles , proper assessment of new proposals should also be carried to see who are the beneficiaries and if there are any adverse effect of the new policies to larger group of people.