Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The question if successful leaders in different fields should be more competitive or more collaborative is an intricate one. Some firmly believe to be a successful leader; one should be highly competitive. However, in order to be successful a leader must be willing to cooperate with others because the views of others can bring solutions not thought of before and too much power can lead to corruption.

First, it is beneficial for leaders to consider the perspectives of other members of their team. Certain aspects of a conflict or situation can be unintentionally ignored by one but if they are willing to work in collaboration with others, another might be able to catch the missing piece of a puzzle. Imagine a patient that is brought into the emergency department because they are experiencing pain in their arm. The physician is not constantly present in one patients’ room to observe the patient. So, if this specific patient is speaking with slurred speech, droopy smile and is unable to raise their left arm and leg, any medical personnel is able to relay this information to the attending physician. This would help the doctor diagnose the stroke the patient is experiencing or has already experienced which is causing the pain in their arm. Doctors in any practice work in junction with departmental staff to ensure the patient’s safety, accurate diagnosis and treatment. Working together as a team is highly advantageous for the doctor but as well as the patient.

Furthermore, an excess of power giving to an individual can lead to corruption. Consider President Kim Jong Un of South Korea. The government of South Korea is based upon dictatorship run by Un. In this practice, the opinion of the people of South Korea holds no value or consideration in any decision made for the country, instead all decisions are made by the president without additional input from others. Social media, television and the internet are censored and filtered to only show content that the government approves of. In other words, the population does not have an accurate representation of any event occurring in the world and superficial information about what is searched. Their president is worshipped and anyone who speaks against him is charged with crime. It can be seen that Un is a highly competitive individual, which has led him to abuse the power bestowed upon him. Competitive leaders can partake in corrupt practices which does not necessarily take into account the wellbeing of others.

Finally, some may argue that leaders should have their own decision-making skills, which would allow them to be a leader in the first place. For example, a captain of a football team should be able to make decisions for their team to lead the team to success. Although it is true that the captain will make big decisions for the team, the team will still work together to accomplish a common goal. These individuals will practice their plays consistently and play together on the field, predicting the move of their teammates to win the game. So, even though decisions are being made by the leader, the group is still working together to reach their goal.

Though believing successful leaders should be competitive has valid reasons, these points do not outweigh the opposing side. Therefore, leaders should be willing to work with others in order to be successful.