Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within- the law, is to make as much money as possible.

The argument presents opinion of two groups of people one with the belief that the only motive for any corporations is money driven and another set of belief is to have initiatives towards environment and societies as well. Though the sustainability of any corporations depend on the amount of profit it makes and in this process it is already thinking of many people of the society by creating job opportunities. But it cannot completely neglect the environmental and societal issues. Without having complaint with the environmental and societal rules any company with the money making tendency will do more harm than good and will leave a permanent mark of damage in the long run which is not at all acceptable.

The inception of any company start with the assessment of the need of the society. The basic structure of profit and loss of any company started by generating supply to meet the demands of the society in loads of manner. Even if we try to neglect the idea of society from the corporations we cannot because it starts from the need of the people of the society. Corporations make money by feeding the needs of the people with its product and in the process make profit for itself. Company might start its business by its money driven tendency and it will go on as long profit comes in otherwise there is no need for running the show and taking up space and resources in every aspect if it cant give anything back tot he society or itself. So monetary benefit is a must to take into account while running a business. But this tendency impair society's peace and and environmental ecology then the corporations is not taking the full picture into account and soon will surely fall apart.

In some cases there might be some trade off between money and environment for greater good. For example, a company making any useful product such as leather products from animal skin and the factory leaves harmful by-products in the environment which call for attention. To address this problem either the company needs to stop making the products and the customers looses its desired products and many people looses jobs as well. But continuing the production for the long time will leave harmful effect on the society, and neither of the extreme situations are expected. The middle ground of introducing to process the by-products and leave less harmful wastes in the environment y sacrificing some profit form the company for processing the by-products will lead tot he sustainability of both the corporation and the environment.

To sum up we can say that any corporations must be driven by profit but by remaining fully complacent with the environmental and societal laws to ensure the its sustainability. It is not at all either this or that condition, proper strategic planning and insights are able to give any corporation its desired result of profit and doing good for the society. In some cases as mentioned trade offs for greater good can bring balance both in corporations and in society.