People who pursue their own intellectual interests for purely personal reasons are more likely to benefit the rest of the world than are people who try to act for public good.

The author claim that people acting out of their own interest can benefit the world more than the people who act for public good. The contention presented is too generalized and also assert more than one claim in the argument. First the speaker generalized that people have only two polarized intention one in own good and another is public good. In reality this is not the case every time, for people it depends on event to events. Second claim is that intention of own good can offer more to public than the genuine intention of doing actually public good. While I concede that there are some cases of serendipity in all events but the intention matters despite the outcome of any action.

All human being have mélange of emotion, which varies from time to time and also depends on the trend on his/her own life. So, we cannot directly generalize all people in term of self-interest intention and public interest intention all the time. A sincere social activist usually work for the welfare of the nation or territory he/ she dwells in, but there are several action in life that has been taken just out of personal interest, it can be as genuine as finding as good private school for his/her own child at the same time fighting for children rights. Similarly, any business acting out of self interest and after making billions, ostensibly move to philanthropic activities. These sort of changes in intention of human being happens very often.

Secondly the author suggest that people acting out of self interest can offer more good tot he society. Well, this is true scenario when people are just minding their own business and in the offing does not hurt other people coming in the way. There are several context of this scenario. When we as individual mind our own business and keep doing our part of the job wit complete honesty then everything associated remains in place and impute to the harmony and welfare of the society as a whole. On the other hand, people acting out of public interest might sometime bring chaos into the society and in the long term do more harm than good. The history is replete with several such examples.

But, the above scenario is not a quixotic scenario. People often forget their fine line between maintaining one's own job finely and self-interest to the extent of hurting others by not caring about the society. Again people looking out for others may actually bring a change in the society rather than breaking the harmony. People like Mahatma Gandhi and Martin King Luther Jr, fought with the intention of public welfare and changed the history along with them for good.

In sum, we cannot generalize people intention and outcome with a yes and no scale as there are several other environmental and natural phenomena, affecting the outcome of any moves. The the world has a tendency of bringing out the best for itself, matching every scenario for its convenience in the long run.