Too much time, money and energy are spent developing new and more elaborate technology. Society should instead focus in maximizing the use of existing technology for the immediate benefit of its citizens.

The author maintain that too much time, money and energy are spent developing new and more elaborate technology so society should focus in maximizing the use of existing technology for the immediate benefit of its citizens. Too extreme position asserted by the speaker misses the main point. The agenda discussed is not something to be generalized rather need to be taken in case and case basis. I concede that focus on maximizing existing technology is important in maintaining a standard life of our current population but impeding growth of new things will cripple the future of next generation.

Imagine scientists and great scholars of our previous generation had the same thought like that of the author and focused on the things that will benefit them in their lifetime only where would we stand now. That scenario might compel us to be happy with a 2 wheeler or a steam train may be, forget about traveling in the speed of Boeing 747. The very base of scientific technology is to make the future better irrespective of the generation serving. Researchers all over the world have undertaken projects based on the current trend which might bring detrimental impact in the future. Research has started on climate changes since a long time, without them thinking about their future generation we would now be cardinally fighting with disease and other basic issue let alone maximizing current technology.

If we do not allocate budget and resources in the development and research program then we will obstruct the growth of the future generation and lead them in great dark. Besides the budget allocate now in developing new technology is not fully used by the future generations only. This allocation create job opportunity and open many other arenas contributing to the prosperity of economy.

The current predicament require us to focus on the things that benefit the citizens. Insofar I agree with the author that does not hold the extreme position. Considering the field of politics, medicine, social science and physical science and education all the field focus on the current benefit of the citizens by default. Ver few people can see the long term impact of our current decision and stymie the growth of any project which will benefit the society currently but have long term deleterious affect on the society. But this should not be the case at all. The largest mangrove forest of southeast Asia named 'Sundorban' terrain in Bangladesh is in the face of danger due to the very tendency of focusing on current problems of electricity. The government decided to build a power plant which will of course meet the current power supply need but will impact the ecology of the forest forever.

In sum, it can be said, it is human tendency to focus on extant leaf rustling problems but it the long term slow poisoning events that kill us in the end. So, like our previous generation we need to focus on research and innovative technologies which might not bring immediate outcome but is good for the universe in the long run.