Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art revives aesthetic and empathy in human beings. In the modern era where people have become workaholic in order to thrive and support their own country to strive in every avenues, the pervasive nature of art to remind a person who is and keep him grounded in very pivotal. With its very nature it gives human being perspective to see one thing in a mélange of aspects, thus opening further opportunities and prosperity. To flourish art and available it to sector of people from urban to rural corner of a nation government intervention is indeed important but it is also true that this very intention might harm the art itself as protector sometimes become the consumer itself. No matter who finance or organizes the path of arts, the content of this very thing must be protected.

Government of any nation is responsible for the betterment of the country. Their work should be for the country and its people not any other way around. But the current situation in many countries like China, North Korea, Bangladesh, India etc. be it a democratic country or a despotic country the government tis taking full control and using its power to manipulate the system in its own favor to keep themselves in power. It is in this profound predicaments that the Art in the hand of government might lose its authenticity and many artist might not express themselves in fear to getting harassed or arrested or flagged by government.

In North Korea, the art and literature and even the text books are controlled by the government by its state owned publishing company. In Bangladesh a very recent trend started where people criticizing government even from their own social media accounts are flagged under ICT law and in some cases even arrested. The recent case in India where a citizen talking over phone in UBER about the citizenship amendment law keeping his opinion against in were taken to police station by the driver and to everyone’s astonishment the Uber driver was reward by the government. The tyranny in this countries exist in every avenue of the citizen’s social and political life. Art in the hand of these government will be crushed let alone flourish.

Imagine the era where Pablo Picasso is instructed to paint as per a set of instruction. The world would not have any Pablo Picasso. Art and literature demand free expression. If an artist fear that he might face consequences because of this very work he produced will impede his growth and the nation might lose a great work. Is it quite impossible for any organization or human being to take this sector to the remote area of any nation because organization needs financing and of course drives by profit for sustainability. Is the Government who has the capability to reach the furthest corner and to everyone, also it a government’s duty to do so. With advancement of technology and digitalization through mobile devices and web to store all the literary work it became much easier to burgeon in this sector, the only requirement is true intention and will power of the Government for enhancement of its citizen.

It is said by Walt Whitman that “To have great poets there must be great audience”. Adding further to this I would say that to develop great audience we must create an environment where audience can get access to bundle of works in different arena of their choice and this expedition is possible with Government intervention in process acceleration not the content of the art or the mind of the artist.