The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above make some unwarranted assumptions. Unless the assumptions are answered the application of the strategy might not bring the desired implication rather complicate the overlal scenario. The intention of the mayor might be doing some good for the city but unless his decision is backed by evidence and more supported by unproved assumption the city's problems will not be addressed to thrive the city towards prosperity.

The first assumption it makes is that serving a part of the city with subway system will solve the traffic problem of the entire city. It is not even mention that the part where the mayor wants to build the subway is experiencing any problems at all. Before implementing the project one must have to assess the need to having a subway in the downtown area. Besides one the major assumption that the argument makes is that introducing subway will solve the porblem of the city whereas we did not even assess the root of the cause. Whether it is beacuse of the excessive number of commuters, or private vehicle or the behaviour of the poeple. For example if the demography of the area is more of a luxurious kind and people tendency is to commute by their owned vehicle then any additional public vehicle like subwya will bring no good tot he community. These salient features requires in depth study before taking any decision y the Mayor.

Ostensibly, it looks that having a subway in place of buses will solve the problem of traffic, but before coming to this very conclusion we need to know the number of bus services in that area and also the commute pattern of the people. It can be one of the case that the downtown might not need all day long service of subway and adding few amount of buses might also address the issue rasied by local people there. In that case having all day long subway will cause extra traffic with its movement and not to say the about the big chunk of money going after that for creating more chaos.

Even if all the above stated assumption holds true and buidling a subway is the correct decision to be taken by the Mayor there is no strict evidence that the economy of Briggsville is directly proportional to its workers' productivity at all. The economy of any state depends on a loads of factor and workers productivity might be one of them. But without having drawn a proper analogy we cannot define it as the only reason for the prosperity of the state.

At last it can be said that any progressive work incorporating money, work force and time need to have a justifiable reason through research and evidence supportin g it. Otherwise it would be total waste of all the resources. Having the above stated assumption prove unwarranted the Mayor's decision in building the subway might be perilous to the life of its citizen in place of propitious semblance.