Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by many individuals that unpaid community services ought to be made mandatory for high school students. Community services include activities, such as charity work, neighborhood amelioration, teaching physical activities to younger children etc., that have an impact in the overall progress of the locality. In my opinion, these services should be made compulsory for high school students, given that the students get the chance to opt out of the program showing proper utilization of their time with other tasks that are crucial for the student's career.

Firstly, in favor of community services, it can be said that these improve community bonding, as when a student is taking part in any of these activities it involves other member of the area to be active also. For instance, a high school student teaching sports to younger children, to some extent involves their parents as well. Moreover, this embolden the connection among the members, teaches empathy and teamwork to the students as well, which are mandatory skills for the student's future. Secondly, along with theoretical knowledge these activities teach them to be pragmatic and shows direct impact of their actions. Besides, a sense of community develops in the student for the very beginning which helps ingrain social values more vividly in the volunteer.

Although community service is all in all a good way to prepare a high student for the future and at the same time helping the community, the unpaid part is a debatable one. As, many student has to support themselves and sometimes their family, giving time to unpaid services might hamper the financial aspect of these adolescents. On the other hand, there are some students who are active throughout their time and have better plans to utilize their time in some other activities like research, building a program, have a foreign trip etc. These are also crucial aspect of development of the youngster, which should not be inhibited.

To conclude, unpaid community services can be made compulsory for high school students, but there must be a provision of consideration for special cases.