Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. soME POEPLE SAY THAT THIS INFORMATION MAY BE RELEVANT and useful. other disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Personal information such as hobbies, marital status etc. is useful information from many people's persepctive and opposing views exist in same proportion as well. I believe that these information reflects on the personality trait of a person but not always give the exact idea or information about the person. Sometime these act only as data point for that person, which can be relate to other information to apprehend someone.

Personal information give employers access to the employee's world and help them make an impression about the employee. For example a married person might have more urge to have certainity in the job and will tend not to change the job in comparison to single person who does not have any family bindings and can switch anytime. Similary a non- smoker might not continue their job in a tobacco company for a longer term as their inner instict of ethics might kick in anytime. These little information many employers think helps them make bettern decision in choosing employees as they do not want to invest time and resources on recruting and traning someone who might not stay witht the company or do not show sincere attitude towards work.

Human mind in very fickle and is very difficult to predict based on some information about their apathy and inclinations towrads particular things. Many employers now is more focused on new ideas and create room for development for the employee which makes people think of personal information as trivial. Information like hobbies of plantation, coin collection, watching television make no sense to some people as they make their employees work in a given time period and do not care about after work life of employees.

I beleive personal information are data points which helps when come along with other information about the person. These data if collected will help define personality traits which can employers narrow down their search list and spent less time in recruitng and worrying about the employees. The complete program can assure employers which employees can be trusted with which sort of task and count on the accomplishment in a more relaxed manner.