Some people believe that the only purpose of films is entertainment. Others say films have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The purpose of films is a debated topic among many regarding its entertaining and educational values. While some people consider movies to be purely for entertainment only, others consider educational sides to be noteworthy as well. In my opinion, there are some films which have educational values but the majority of them are primarily entertaining only.

With regards to the fun factor of movies, firstly, people watch movies out of boredom and also to have some relaxation from a tiresome routined life. So, the objective of films is mostly restricted towards entertainment because people really do not want any usage of their brain in their little free time. Secondly, entertaining films are the most commercially successful ones, that bring profit for the production and help sustain the whole industry. Besides, watching films is a highly rated fun time activity when people think of passing a good time with friends and family.

Contrary to the popular view of the entertaining purposes of films, there are numerous movies which has educational values associated. Many movies are being made based on true stories and historical events, which are also getting accolades among both critics and common consumers. Moreover, the popularity of documentary films are on the rise in this decade, which suggests that people are keen to learn more in their leisure time as well if passed on in the form of entertainment.

In conclusion, it can be said that films although have some educational values are mostly entertaining. But if films were focused on educational values along with entertainment, it would have been a great achievement for society.