In many countries it in now possible to turn on the television and view government on work. Watching these proceedings can help people understand the issues that affect their lives. The more kinds of government proceedings - trials, debate, meetings etc. --- that are televised, the more society will be benefit.

The author of the argument assert the idea of the government to be an open book in front of the public and that is the only way to benefit the society overall. To many extent the assertion hold weight in the light that the more transparent a government is the more reliance it can have of its people. But the extremist position of the argument is something to be worry about since there are loads of things running with the government and general people does not need to know everything. Disseminating every information to the mass people might create chaos in the society as well in place of advantage.

Any government of any country has to deal with a lot of information and tons on ongoing issues ranging from home and aboard. Every issue is of different value and importance in terms of its relevance to place in front of general public. To maintain the security of the country the government might need to undertake several defense program and one of them can include nuclear weapon invention in their own country. Spreading out the signing of these project in the initial state to the mass public might bring unnecessary attention from both home and foreign countries. In the light of different controversy the project might get close even before its inception. This isnot good for the country in the long run at all. So, understanding the depth of any information and the timing to let the information accessible to mass people requires proper action plan and dissemination of information at various level and discerning the importance and knowledge of that information to that particular level is of paramount importance.

General public cannot always handle all the information given to them quite nicely in the contrary it creates chaos and impede the overall plan of the government towards progress. Also there are various cases where government itself is not sure how to deal with an ongoing situation and letting people know about it will create more harm than good. Besides when we are talking about mass people we must keep in mind that the reception capacity and discerning capability of each people varies and difference in opinion give rise to predicaments which we might want to avoid in the face of any crisis. Government must first work out a proper plan for emergency situation and guide people accordingly. Mass people by default rely on the government and like to think that someone is there to take care of them and not take things into their own hand always.

But of course there are cases where letting people know about the situation is the most prudent decision to make at times. The government must be capable enough to understand every situation and know which information to pass on and which one not and this is part of effective governance. Giving proper update to people through television considering it is the most trusted medium of communication from government tot he mass people is also a way to maintain transparency and accountability. These two things is very pivotal in reducing corruption in the government, which cripple the country in all form. Also, in the face of any emergency after figuring out the situation letting people know and giving a true picture of the situation and along with showing the path forward is the smartest way to deal with any unwanted situations. For example, in the face of current pandemic situation of Covid-19, the chancellor of Germany, Angela Markel handled the situation of Germany quite nicely by being very frank and bold about the consequence if the people do not follow the instruction led already. Maintaining transparency and giving updates about situation also helped New Zealand to become one of the first countries to fight out the pandemic and start normal lives again, on the contrary hiding information led to much severe consequences to United states.

In sum, we can say that transparency and accountability is very important to ensure benefit for the people but there is a fine line about the sharing of information. The government need to have proper insights and knowledge about any information before sharing it to the mass people in order to avoid chaos and dismissing of any beneficial project.