The following appeared in an article written by

Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist,

visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by

an entire village rather than by their own biological

parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes

Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than

about other adults in the village. This research of

mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures

is invalid as well. The interview-centered method

that my team of graduate students is currently

using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate

understanding of child-rearing traditions there and

in other island cultures.”

The arguments stated above make some unstated assumption, if these assumptions goes unwarranted then the argument falls apart. The arguments stated about Dr. Karp findings and conslusions which are made on several unwarranted assumtptions which render doubt to the arguement itself. To say concretely that Dr. Karp's claim is valid we need answer to some questions which will strengthen the argument.

Firstly, Dr Karp hailed interview-centered approach in order to determine the child rearing traditions. In order to establish this approach first this method needs to be backed by previous success rate depending on its sample size and questionnarie. The arguments gives no such information about its methodology and previous track record which ultimately decides the success rate of any action plan. If the method is ot backed by any revious success rate it can be one of the case that the conclusion Dr. Karp and his team reached is actually imapired and does not represent the true scenario of the situation at all. They might be asking the wrong questions and surveying the wrong persons or their smaple size may be too small. So without proper information on the methodology we can not say for sure that this approach is the right and correct one.

The author claims that Dr. Field observation aout Tertia's chieldren is invalid because the children talked about only their biological parents. Since the chiledren were interviewed so it can be one of the case that the interviewer asked only the question related to biological parents. We do not know ow many open ended questions were thrown to children so that they can share their feelings and tlaked about whatever they like. It also depends on the time range of the survey as well. Did they went to the village and surveyed for one day or one year or five years we do not have that information we assess whether we should rely on the information from the children to determined the child-rearing culture of that locality.

The author states another researcher's method wrong based on the result of the research which was made 20 years ago. It time period is enough time for any society to chnage its course. It is unfair to states the methodology as incorrect based on the result of a study which was made 20 years ago. It can be one of the case that the result of Dr. Field study will change about current Tertia with his methodology as well.

To sum up, we can say that unless the above stated evidences are provided we cannot say for sure that the arguments is valid. These unstated assumptions weaken the argument from base.