Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue of whether the companies must be responsible for promoting the well being of the societies and environment they operate around is a contentious one. Both the side have strength and weakness, however, I believe that the corporations are responsible for the promoting the well being of the societies and environment in which they are operating as it important for the corporation to give back to the society not only by philanthropy but also by setting the standards that try to achieve the better future for the surrounding.

There are many big corporations in the world that are putting extensive effort to have minimal carbon footprint and furthermore, aims to achieve to be a carbon-neutral company in the future. For example, top tech companies like Apple, Microsoft and Google are deliberating making effort to have a better environment around them. It also promotes the working environment in the office and might lead to more productivity of the employers.

Moreover, due to the efforts by such large corporation, it also promotes the same attitude toward the environment and many small organizations also tries to achieve the same. Nonetheless, the world is facing the major crisis of climate change, hence it is very important to take care of the environment around.

Lastly, it is also important for corporations to promote the well being of society, there are many issues in society which could be solved by such corporations. Nowadays, most of companies have CSR activities, which aims to promote the well being of society. For example, they could take initiative to promote education for people of backward class or talk about the topics like mental health or the importance of yoga that are very less discussed in society in general.

Companies must also focus on making the money in their specialized field and must try to improve on the technology to be the best in the world. However, the corporation also set examples for other corporations or startups, and it’s their duty to bring a positive impact in the world. Having a great well being in the society and environment they worked in, will have more effective working staff and they will give back the future to the next generation they aspire to be in.

In conclusion, the corporation are responsible till certain extend to promote well being in society and the environment they worked in. The efforts by the company to take the society along with thor success, will be much appreciated by the people.