Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

The Issue whether Corporations have responsibility towards society and environment is a contentious one. I believe corporations should obey law and try to make as much money as possible. Because unless corporation make profit, the development is going to halt. Also, if rules and regulation is provided wisely and make corporations follow the rules then both society and corporation can prosper.

First, main goal of a corporation is to earn money. If it focuses on social development, then its primary goal of making money will hamper. Which may lead to destruction of that corporation. For example, big technology company like Facebook, Google is creating advanced technology for us. To create advanced technology, lots of money needs to be invested. If these company focus on social and environmental development, then they might lose their profit and eventually it will hamper their investment in developing higher technology. So, corporations main focus should be making profit not on social development.

Second, if we can impose proper rules and regulations on corporations then we can force them to promote the wellbeing of society and environment. For example, Big manufacturing industry like car companies produce lots of carbon di oxide every day. If we make laws that these company which emit huge amount of CO2 in the environment have to plant trees which produce equal amount of oxygen, then we can prevent greenhouse effect. Again, we can restrict different manufacturing companies to emit industrial wastage to atmosphere and river water by creating strict rules. This in terns will help shaping a better society and environment. So creating prudent laws and regulation can be one way of making corporation invest towards betterment of society and environment.

On the other hand, some people believe that corporation should take responsibility towards society and environment on its own. But the problem with that notion is that which corporation should promote how much is a big question. Again if there are no clear rules and regulation then corporation will not get any guidance how to act for the development of society and environment. For example, we expect big oil companies to invest more to environmental cause. Because they are the one destroying. On the other hand, renewable energy companies should have less burden of ruining our ecology, thus should pay less to social and environmental development. But if we let these company decide for themselves how much they contribute toward society then there is a change that big company which are hampering our environment decide to invest nothing for our society and environment.

In conclusion, even though some people believe that corporations have some responsibility toward society and environment, I believe that if laws and regulation is properly imposed then both society and corporations can be benefited