Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I totally agree with the statement that all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

First, history course is a fundamental course which acts as a foundation of other advanced courses. For example, I took origin of mankind and evolution course in my university second year. To understand human evolution better, I had to explore million years of history of Homo Sapiens and related species. I had to know when first man started to live as a group, when man discovered fire, when man started to cultivate plant and so on. I had to understand each and every aspect of ancient historical changes and find out evolutionary reasons behind them. Even though I was a biology student, understanding evolution required me to learn history and If I had taken a history course then it would have been easier for me. So, learning history is a basic requirement for higher study and history course should be compulsory.

From history we can learn our ancestor’s mistake and avoid repeating them. For example, one of my friend is a nuclear engineer and he is aware of the danger of nuclear weapons by investigating previous history of world war II. He knows how dangerous it can be if the nuclear weapon he is working with is handed to an evil person. In world war II two big cities of Japan, Hiroshima and Nagasaki, was completely destroyed by atomic bomb. It took thousands of innocent lives and thousands of people became disabled because of harmful radiation. Knowing the previous history, my friend always stays alert so that nuclear material could not be used to harm mankind. So, learning history is important for a scientist too.

In conclusion, I think history course is a very basic course which should be made mandatory. But It might create overhead for some student so the course content should be kept very elementary level.