True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and su

The argument whether success can be measured based on ones personal goal, is a contentious one. I believe true success can not be measured by evaluating goals one sets for oneself. Because one can set irrelevant goals which has nothing to do with success. Furthermore, there are collective goals which depends on lots of people, achieving a single person's goal will mean nothing in that case.

First, people set lots of goal which have nothing to do with success. For example, I personally set a goal of watching all episodes of Game of Thrones TV series in just one week. This goal will not help me achieving anything. I set these goal entirely for entertainment purpose. Again, sometimes we set wrong goals. For example, If someone sets a goal to lose 20 kg of weight in one week to become slimmer then the only thing he or she will lose is good health. Setting this kind of goal will not make one successful in life.

Furthermore, there are goals set by our society. For example, if students want to be successful academically then they must get good grades in school - a goal set by society. If some student set his own goal of getting only a overall B grade and think he or she is successful then that will be a foolish thing to assume. Also, society's goal can be collective. For example, a country's goal is to increase its GDP 50% in 10 years. Increasing only few government officials income would mean nothing in that case because the goal here have to be achieved collectively by all the people of a country.

On the other hand, some people argue achieveing personal goal brings peace of mind and make one truly successfu. But peace of mind does not always mean success. for example, one might feel peaceful after buying a decent shoe or dress which has nothing to do with success.

In conclusion, meaning of success vary person to person. But as a whole one has to achieve the goals society set for us to become truly successful. Fulfilling personal milestones does not make one successful.