The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

I partially agree with this statement. I believe cooperation and competition, both is necessary to prepare young people for leadership. Without competition there will be no eagerness to excell. Cooperation is also important because we can not run a government or industry alone, we need cooperation.

First, Competition is a vital element for success. For example, in a industry or corporation if there is no competition, then employee will not try to become best of their field. If they can not excel what they do then they can never be good leader. Again suppose in a school there is no grading system and student do not compete each other, then student will eventually lose interest and will not focus on their study. So competition is compusory for leadership and success.

Furthermore, if we want to build our nation, our industry or any other field we can not do it alone. collective effor is needed for success. For building leadership cooperation is also imortant. For example, in 1947 Mahatma Ghandi 's leadership brought India freedom. But he did not do it alone. Mass people of India's support and cooperation was behind this achievemnt. Again, in a government office if someone wants to pass a bill which will make improvement to our society, he or she can not do it alone. It has to be done collectively. So cooperation a basic requirement for growing leadership among young people.

On the other hand, some people argue that too much competition makes people frustrated and sometimes evil. But it totally depends on people's moral basic and mental condition. For example, when two big rival corporation compete each other to get bigger share of market, they might start corruption and do it in unethical way. But we have laws for that and and if we make them obey law then this kind of situation can be avoided. So competition does not make young people frustrated, it actually prepare them for leadership.

In conclusion, even though too much competition or cooperation might be a bad thing, but they are the two component for leadership and young people should be motivated to practice both.