Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art is basically something that is created with imagination and passion which in turn expresses important ideas or feelings. Some common examples of Art are painting, dancing, music, etc. All these activities are the result of the passion possessed by the individual which results in creation of great piece of work. Some people believe that government funding in arts is necessary in order to flourish and be available to all people while others think that, this may affect the integrity of the art. In my opinion, government funding in arts is more beneficial than harmful to art.

Firstly, art is something which cannot be practiced and earned, it is something which comes from natural talent. Art does not distinguish between poor and rich, there are few underprivileged people who have talent but do not have proper platform or the money to showcase their talent. In this case, government funding in form of money or a platform can help these people to display their talent in front of pool of people. There are various examples where an individual cannot posses their talent due to lack of support and funding. If art can earn these people money to live then they will also possess it and do what they are passionate about. For example, I knew a teenager who played guitar extremely well but due to his poor financial condition he had to take a different path and gradually stopped playing guitar over the period of time. In such cases, if the government could fund these people in the form of either money or proper platform then the nation will be full of passionate working people.

Secondly, funding of art also brings economic benefits to the nation. As if these pieces of arts are displayed properly will attract more people and hence will result in economic benefit to the nation. For example, travellers all around the world visit France to see the famous Mona Lisa painting. As France Government has showcases it well many people visit France just to see the famous painting. Another example is of famous Turkish folk dances, Turkish government has taken efforts to organize shows in order to display its fork dance to the travellers.

Furthermore, on the contrary funding has its own limitation, requirements, and demands. In many cases, the arts which are beneficial and famous get more funding and support rather than other arts, which hampers the art culture of the nation. Government should take care that they support all works of art equally so in future there will an environment where any form of art can be chosen as a way of living.

In conclusion, I feel that preserving and promoting art is very important. The government should corroborate individuals to pursue their passion and flourish in society.