Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Arts can be defined as the application or expression of human creative skills, typically in visual forms, such as painting, dancing, sculpture, music, literature, etc. Art is essential not only for the cultural identity of a nation but also for the intellectual health of its citizens. Therefore, the government is obligated to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. While some may argue that public funding of arts for that purpose can be detrimental to the integrity of arts, proper funding targets and mechanism are enough to alleviate this apprehension.

Like any other aspect of the society such as Science, health care, education, etc., government funding is warranted to ensure the flourishing of the arts and its accessibility to general public, especially of late. Art projects and institutions need resources for survival. Musicians need instruments; artists require supplies; museums need maintenance; and so on. These expenses are mostly covered through earnings from sales and exhibitions, philanthropic donations, private investments and government funding. With the advent of modern recreational avenues and pastimes such as multiplexes, amusement parks, pubs, etc., interest in arts continues to abate significantly. Consequently, donors and investors are less interested in luxury donations or investments with no promise of returns in sight. Therefore, the only constant and reliable financial resource for these institutions to survive is government funding.

Moreover, without government funding, art institutions would be left with no alternative but to increase entry prices to meet their expenses. This would further repel an already disinterested crowd from arts institutions, thus forcing the arts into oblivion. Similarly, without a constant source of funding, the employment of many artists and artisans is threatened. They would start looking for other livelihood opportunities and abandon their expertise. Lack of government funding, therefore, could deprive the arts institutions from both the artists and the audience; and arts would eventually die instead of flourishing and proliferating.

People against the government sponsorship of arts may argue that the integrity of arts will be compromised. Artists and art projects conforming the government agenda and ideology would be favored whereas others would be disowned. For example, in North Korea, art projects cherishing the dictatorial heritage are being sponsored by the government. However, this seems to be a problem of autocracy rather than government funding. In such countries, even private sponsored arts would be censored if it is not fulfilling the government agenda. In a democratic country, the extent of manipulating arts is limited. Furthermore, the threat to the integrity of arts also lies with private sponsorship. For instance, a big MNC can fund and promote arts for their own publicity and creation of a positive image in the public. Ultimately, it all comes down to the moral integrity of the artists to not to compromise the spirits of arts under the influence of their sponsors. For example, Picasso constantly criticized Franco’s regime while other chose to be sycophantic. An iconoclastic artist in all likelihood will adhere to his moral responsibility to challenge common sense, contest government position and policies, etc.

Finally, there are many ways and methods of funding and supporting the arts without the scope of manipulation. Governments can always set up new museums, libraries, operas and international art exhibitions providing employment and opportunities to a multitude. Opening specialized arts colleges and providing scholarships would ensure that the nation is not deprived of the future Picassos. Low or medium grade artists can be employed for beautifying airports, government institutions, stadiums, etc. Furthermore, instead of directly funding specific projects or artists, government can always fund institutions or professional bodies while granting disbursement autonomy, thus leaving no scope for their interference.

In conclusion, both the arts and artists government has the responsibility to make provisions for flourishing arts and making it accessible cannot survive, let alone flourish and become accessible to public, without a reliable funding support which can only be provided by the government. While fear for the integrity of arts in not ill-founded, appropriate funding targets and methods can suffice to obviate it.