Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The word art can be defined as the way of expressing an individual’s opinion more vividly in a creative way. Dancing, painting, singing, drawing all these can be considered as the various forms of arts. The government funding arts can lead to various consequences which can be advantageous as well as disadvantageous.

Firstly, it is the art pursued by the people in a society defines the culture of that society however, there might be cases where a person is forced to stop pursuing an art as their career due to lack of resources or money, in such cases government funding arts can be advantageous as it gives them a chance to continue their career in their respective field of arts, moreover it can also help in creating awareness among people about the importance of arts in a society, which indirectly contributes for the development of arts.

The disadvantages of the government funding for arts also play a major role, if the government is inefficient in funding for arts then it might cause a huge risk for people pursuing their career in their respective fields of arts and also there might be a chance that people start giving less importance to arts which in turn leads to the downfall of the arts in the society thus indirectly effecting the development of the society. What is a society without its arts? The answer to that question can be considered as a society without its culture, which is being monitored by robots rather than the people living in that society.

By considering the above points it can be said that as long as the government is efficient then the government funding for arts can be advantageous however, it is up-to the people of the society to continue in keeping the arts alive even if the government turns out to be inefficient.

it is the arts pursued by the people of a society which define the development of society.