Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is based on arctic deer which is found in the arctic region of Canada. it stated that the decline in the population of the deer is the result of deer’s being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the sea. however before jumping to conclusions we need to consider all the possible scenarios which might help us to decide if the given argument is valid or not.

The argument claimed that the decline in the population of the deer is due to global warming which results in the melting of ice, since the deer travel through ice, melting of ice might be an obstacle for their migration. however this claim is based on the report given by the local hunters, but an important point which was not mentioned in the report was that hunting of the deer can also lead to the decrease in the deer population. Moreover it was mentioned that the habitat of the deer is limited to areas which are warm enough to sustain the plants for their food and cold enough for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands for their migration, so there might be a chance that the deer have found a habitat suitable for their survival and decided to stay in that place and not to migrate, in such cases global warming might not affect the population of the deer.

The argument is based in the report done by the local hunters, however there might be a chance that the population of the deer in the area where the hunters are located might be less and the population of the deer in other places might be more, if that is true then the report given by the hunters is false thus making the argument baseless.

By considering the above points it can be concluded that the above argument is not entirely valid.