Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

According to Edgar Degas, “Art is not what you see, but what you make others see.” Art plays a vital role in determining the culture of society and improving the economy. The subject of government funding the arts is a debatable issue and extremely sensitive to the specifics of the country in mind.

First of all, art reflects the attitude of society in ways that another medium cannot capture. Art and craft are considered one of the essential factors in understanding society. For instance, in India, the city Jaipur is known for its artwork. It is also known by the name ‘Pink City’ because most of the buildings are painted pink. Pink city is famous for its vibrant art culture that varies from visual arts and crafts to dance, music, and architecture. This culture can be preserved if the government allocates necessary resources and looks after the maintenance of society.

Furthermore, arts help in generating revenue for the country in the form of tourism. Tourists are attracted to aesthetically pleasing places, and this helps in emerging small-scale businesses. These businesses will provide jobs for the people, and the economy of the country will rise. For example, in South India, most of the temples were built in the 10th Century. These temples have received many tourists from all over the world and have amassed much wealth. Small-time businesses like restaurants and florists have also flourished around the temples due to high tourist activity. What would happen if the government did not sustain these temples and finance them?

However, it would be foolish to fund art where there are more pressing needs to be addressed. The countries where art is abundant, but education and healthcare require more attention cannot focus on supporting art. For instance, some countries in Africa may have vibrant art, but the government cannot fund them because it needs to focus on more important issues at hand, which are healthcare, education, and infrastructure. Thus, the government must resolve the crucial issues first and then think about how they can support art.

In conclusion, it is vital to strike a balance, to ensure that arts flourish while preserving the economy. Calculated funds must be allocated to arts so that they can thrive and help in boosting the economy. At the same time, other pressing problems related to the development of the country must be kept in sight for a country to be prosperous.