The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter to the editor, the author concludes that order of birth has an impact on the stimulations of organisms. This conclusion relies on the study of 18 rhesus monkeys and a high level of cortisol in various situations. Though the underlying issue may have merit, because of unaddressed assumptions and lack of relevant evidence, the author’s argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

First of all, the author has come to a conclusion based on a study of only 18 rhesus monkeys. It might have been the case with these specific monkeys, but it cannot be generalized to all the organisms. One’s stimulation levels cannot rely upon the order of birth. For instance, what if other firstborn monkeys did not show these stimulations. It can also be possible that as rhesus monkeys grow, their stimulation levels increase. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s contention that the order of birth affects stimulation does not hold water.

Furthermore, the author compares rhesus monkeys with humans, which might not be the best thing to do. The author presumes that the human body and monkeys are similar. However, this might not be the case as humans are considered more sophisticated and complex organisms. It might be true that firstborn humans produce high levels of cortisol, but this does not prove that the order of birth controls this stimulation. It can also be possible of other factors like a child’s metabolism and energy levels play a vital role in releasing higher levels of cortisol. If either case is genuine, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that because first time pregnant mother monkeys have higher levels of cortisol, the birth order affects the amount of stimulation. However, this could not have been true because first-time mothers are always nervous as well as excited about the baby, which might bring a lot of hormonal changes in their bodies. These hormonal changes might be a reason why a higher amount of cortisol is released in first-time mother monkeys. If this argument is valid, then the assertion by the author that order of birth decides the amount of stimulation is hampered significantly.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed considerably due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can resolve the three flaws and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) and consider other biological complexities, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation fully.