Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art is the journey of a free soul and the government gives wings to this free soul when it supports the artists with its funding. We are still a part of a society which undermines the effort it takes to take up the arts. Several artists have given up on their art because it has not been able to sustain their livelihood nor has it been able to give them a state of social respect in society. In such conditions, funding from the government would definitely be a boost for these artist to continue their profession as well as for newcomers to take up arts.

Society has always considered arts as a valueless profession while giving a god-like status to the sciences. The considerable amount of skills and the time taken to master these arts have never been taken into account by the people. Like it is said, ‘It’s easy to say, but difficult to do’, the years of hard work and toiling is the reason these artisans are what they are today. Technology has also played a principal role in uplifting and bringing down the arts. While technology has made the arts available for all, it also has caused enormous privacy violations like illegally downloadable music, photos and paintings.

Since the arts have been frowned upon, the payment for the art has always been the most important question. Artists, musicians, dancers, sculptors, to name a few, depend on the sale of their art for their livelihood. As a society which does not respect the art, sometimes the artist too, it is of no doubt that a fair monetary valuation for the art does not happen. Many artists have never been given their due because they simply never asked for it or they were easily manipulated. Harvey Ball, the man who gave the world the smiley, was paid a meager sum for his art. Non-payment of dues makes artists leave their trade and wander into some field which would help them make ends meet. Jobs are not readily available for artists like it happens in the field of science, because of which they move towards self-employment; very few of them succeeding from it.

For a community which has not been received well by society, government funding would mean adequate support and a huge spotlight to present their art. When a government agency spends money on a certain establishment, it draws a lot of attention to it, encouraging them to perform better. It not only boosts existing artists but also introduces newcomers to the art form. Development of museums and art centers for people to see the art and scholarships to deserving student’s acts as a push for the art. The funding would mean artist working harder to produce better art, thus getting a good source of income to support themselves.

In conclusion, funding from the government would mean a world of difference to the arts. As it creates more recognition, it will make society more accepting towards the arts, provide a stage for the artist to showcase his/her art, while earning a fair amount of money to support their art and their life.