In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s understanding that the increase in speeding violations is because of the road conditions of the Prunty County does not have a solid foundation to it. It is based on pure assumptions and can easily apart.

Firstly, the Prunty County has decreased the speed limit by 10 miles per hour without any concrete explanation for why the speed limit was changed from 55mph to 45mph other than highway safety. It could have begun the speed limit reduction by a smaller change, for example: 50 miles per hour. The smaller interval can be achieved easily and faster as compared to a larger change in the speed limit. The county does not state whether this change in speed has been corrected on all major highways in the county, failing which drivers may still be uninformed.

Secondly, the author does not take into account the fact that the development in the roads in Butler County was undertaken 5 years ago. The author does not state the number of vehicles, nor the type of vehicles passing through Butler County. The wearing of the roads depends on the amount of vehicles and the different type of vehicles using the road, for example: Roads used often by heavy vehicles are more prone to damage than those used by light motor vehicles. Furthermore, the weather conditions in Butler County as well as Prunty County have not been mentioned, which overlooks the fact that the new road built has been subject to 5 years of weather conditions. The present condition of the highways will paint a better picture about the state of the highways in the county.

Additionally, the author does not mention any statistics about the vehicle usage in the Prunty County. Accidents have not decreased and speed limit violations have increased is connected to the bad conditions of the road without any evidence by the author.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide a logical explanation as to why the County should undertake repairs to prevent accidents and speed violations. There is also no mention of what would happen if the repairs were undertaken, which again does not support the author’s point.