Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

The claim states that some believe that especially among children, the increasing violence in media causes increasing violence in our society. While some believes that children's friend circle, peer groups and parents have a much more influence on their behavior. I strongly believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior for following reasons.

Firstly, the children are young and they have very little knowledge of the society. They do what they see around them which are their family, friends, etc. Parents play a major role in influence of their children as a child follows the footsteps of their parents. For example, there was a video of domestic violence in which a husband was hitting his wife in front of 2 years old son. So, the son also started hitting his mother as he saw his father. So, the influence of parents is so enormous that it gets stored deeply in child's brain.

Additionally, the influence of media is not that powerful compared to parents and peers as the media influence happens because of parents and peers. So they are interconnected. Peers are the once who also have second most powerful influence on their friend. As the children tend to like and try to do things that their peer group does because that is something that their parents won't allow but their peers influence them in doing. For example, the consumption of tobacco is something the child's parents won't allow as it is bad for health and also it is violating the society. But if the child's peer are having it and they just tell him/her to just taste it then child gets influenced in that. So, the influence of peers is also really huge in child's life and that is why it is advisable to choose your peers wisely.

In in spite of this, not all the parents, peers and media have bad influence and violate the society but also have good impact if the people around you are honest and good people.

However, the bad influence is major and it overpowers the good influence and inturn leads to the violation of the society. The parents and child's peers are the biggest support system. On these people, the child trusts and follows blindly. Hence, children's peer groups and parental role models are much more powerful influence on children's behavior than influence of media.