Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

generally speaking, a change in lifestyle could lead to a more sustainable environment. By reducing energy consumption, the market would meet a shortage in the demands of energy. As a result, less energy would be produced, hence the climate change could be mitigated. however, things don't always go like that way. changing the lifestyle of people who live in developed nations is not a top priority for solving the global climate change problem.

First, it is hardly promising to contain climate change by reducing the energy consumption of individuals. The reasons are various. it is the large emission of greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide, not the energy consumed, that caused climate change. Admittedly, energy is highly related to carbon dioxide emission, but energy can be used safely as lone as generated in clean methods such as solar and wind energy. What's more, even if reducing energy consumption can effectively slow the procedure of climate change, the difficulty we encountered when trying to quantify the damage caused by energy-consuming activities make this argument less practical. For example, it is not clear how much energy will be consumed when we open our PC and watch a piece of video on the internet, because we don't know how many computations have been made to supply an intellectual daily recommendation for us, and how many servers are running to make sure that we can watch this video anywhere at any time. The actual energy consumed behind a simple click could be huge. so reducing energy consumption is neither likely to be effective--because it's an indirect cause--nor likely to be practical.

Second, global climate change is not only caused by developed countries. Instead, but also developing ones. A developing country like China is a major contributor to carbon dioxide emissions. climate change is a global issue, and the climate problem requires collaborative efforts across the world. it is not likely to contain climate change until the majority of countries are determined to make a difference.

Furthermore, international companies as well as big factories, which consume huge quantities of energy, are much more vital to climate change than individuals. These huge monsters swallow tones of fossil fuels every day. The solution for them, however, is switching to an environmentally friendly industry system by technological innovation, so that they could produce fewer greenhouse gases for each unit of energy they use.

To put it in a nutshell, changing the lifestyle of people who live in developed nations can only help containing global climate change in a limited way. so it should no be in first priority.