Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are

Global climate change is one of the most serious problems threatening the environment and we cannot simply ignore it. Melting of glaciers and shifting of temperature to extremities is an example of this problem.The real dilemma lies in picking the right strategy to tackle this threat efficiently and appropriately.

Some people believe that the residents of the developed nations should lessen their energy consumption to mitigate the effects of climatic change. This would promote a more sustainable lifestyle reducing the burden on environment for providing the fuels and tolerating its deleterious consequences. This would lower the concentration of green house gases in the atmosphere, alleviating the present terrible condition.

In my opinion such a drastic change in lifestyle is somewhat unwarranted. The lack of concrete evidence stating that this would significantly mitigate the situation is a primary motivation for this thought. Instead of drastically changing the lifestyle by reducing the fuel consumption, more research and efforts should be aligned to find more permanent solutions for the problem. For example, replacing the conventional fuels with more cleaner alternatives would be a significant step towards the solution. Consider electric cars for an example, they tend to produce very less or no pollution as compared to the ones driven on gasoline. Moreover, the source of electricity could be a renewable source of energy like solar energy or wind energy.

Additionally, forcing people to reduce their energy consumption goes against fundamental liberties. One should be allowed to live lavishly, provided he is given suitable alternatives so that this does not have drastic impact on environment. The thought of reducing the consumption is somewhat regressive in nature and should not be adopted as humans have always rightly aimed for the development. More research to identify the factors causing climatic change would be helpful enabling us to come out with more better and effective solutions to the problem.

Thus in the conclusion, I believe such a change should not be expected from the residents, instead other effective alternatives should be explored and embraced to counter this threat.