Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

At the era of information transparency, people are requesting to gain more information around the world as their rights of citizens. But sometimes, it is inevitable to withhold information from the public out of safety concerns and maintaining public stability. And we should understand the political leaders choices’ for concealing the information. Whether keeping the information or not should be based on the influence to the public, so political leaders should consider carefully before disclosing the information.

Firstly, a perspective to advocate the fully clear information is that to maintain the average state of public health. For example, food safety issues should undoubtedly be made known to the public. Suppose that the government is deciding to hide the information of food with special contents, then the health of some certain allergic groups is brutally put in uncertainty by the authority. By disclosing such information, common forks may avoid unnecessary illness and maintain their health status at a certain extent. Furthermore, information being above board can be useful and effective sometimes. Events such as earthquakes and hurricanes should be informed, as the public may have enough time to prepare for the nature disasters and reduce the risk of injuries.

Secondly, revealing information about urban planning may exacerbate the corruption between politicians. If the total assets of a candidate were to make public, then he might be able to gain more trust, and receive more support in the election. Besides, government’s commitment of transparency may help build trust among the public and strengthen international cooperation. When outbreak was occurring in Ukraine, given the possibility of this outbreak would spread around the world. The government of Ukraine public its reports and shared the samples which made information transparent to other countries. In such condition, government information publicity helped prevented the deterioration of the epidemic.

However, it is true that disclosing information have shortcomings. A reason considering why to withhold information among the public is that it can maintain national safety. For instance, military weapons have being used as a political strategy to protect the country. Imagine that if a terrorist obtains the position of the nuclear weapons, they may take some measures to utilize these weapons to threat public safety. Moreover, leaking military strategies may put our country under serious conditions and making our country vulnerable to attacks. It is obvious that under certain circumstances, the disclosure of the national information will pose a threat to massive casualties of the citizens.

Information acts like a double-edged sword, and political leaders have to deliberately winnow the news before conveying to the folks. They not only need to prompt the development of the country but also have to assure the safety of millions of civilians. In a nutshell, political leaders should be honest with the public with the information that can be told, but keep information that relates to national security from the public to protect their country, only by this way can benefit both sides.