Some people believe that in order to be effective political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently c

The sole purpose of the government is to represent the people and make sure that they are served properly. As Abraham Lincoln stated, a country of the people by the people and for the people. A political leader should have the ability to persuade and win the public support, either by yielding to their opinion or by influencing them by his outstanding execution. It is a dilemma, whether the successful political leader must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise, or to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. In my opinion, the successful leader should take into consideration the different points of view when he makes the right decisions.

A political leader should have well-defined principles and objectives to support his stand. While political decisions are crucial and affect people lives, public opinion can vary a lot. Furthermore, the majority opinion isn't always reliable, since there are minorities rights shouldn't be ignored. Political leaders who adhere to a cause are venerated by the people and become a role model which people tend to emulate. For instance, Gandhi vouched for independence through violence-free actions, protests, and strikes. He is considered a hero for millions of Indians.

While the public opinion is important in many decisions that may affect their lives, public awareness of many issues is not dependable enough to make the people participate in making decisions. For instance, in the US, the public has an ignorance of many issues, such as federal spending. This problem can be ameliorated by raising the public awareness of the political issues and policies which are tangible to their lives, which will make the public participation in the political decision more efficient. Also, political leaders should have platforms for interactive communication with the public, this will increase their involvement in the political life and invoke their enthusiasm in making positive interventions. As an example, when Bush reelected in 2004, he wanted to reform social security, His public opinion analysts knew that the majority of the public population didn't support Bush's social security reform, so the administration pulled back on its support for reform.

The impact of public opinion on the politicians varies from issue to issue. Although it might be true that politicians should yield to the public opinion in some cases, successful leaders should have a comprehensive view of the issue before taking their decisions.