Some people believe that in order to thrive a society must put its own overall success before the well being of its individual citizens Others believe that the well being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people

In the letter to the editor, the author tries to conclude that farmers are purposefully inflating the price of cream to yield profits. To buttress this argument, the author cites three specific evidences which suggests a decline in the cost of cream production, including the 25 percent rise in the number of diary farms in Relanna over the last decade, advances in milking technology which prominently beef up the efficiency of the milking process, and the reduced labour cost compared to what it was ten years ago. These evidences seem cogent, at first glance, to arrive at the conclusion of the author. However, there could be many alternative explanations, contrary to the proposed explanation, that account for the inflated price of cream.

To begin with, the author only mentions that the number of dairy of diary farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade without any information about the actual number of dairy farms. An alternative explanation could well be that there were only 5 dairy farms in Relanna 10 years ago and consequently 6 dairy farms considering the 25 percent rise the industry report.

Even the number of such dairy farms has increased by 25 percent, this increase is far too meagre to exert any significant impact on the price of cream.

Moreover, even the advances in milking technology greatly boost the efficiency of the milking process, it is still questionable whether farmers in Relannian are accessible to this technology.

Perhaps such innovations in technology, which requires a large sum of money to upgrade milking equipments, are simply to costly for farms, who are still more inclined to the conventional milking method despite its comparably low efficiency. Perhaps the cost saved by such innovations in technology fail to compensate for the expenditure of the technology itself, which in turn even increases the cost of milking process. Without considering these possibilities, it will be arbitrary to assume that advances in milking technology are bound to reduce the cost of cream production.

Similaly, despite the fact that labour costs are actually lower now than they were ten years ago, it is still possible that such reduction is too inconsequential to incur any changes in the production of milk. We simply do not know whether or how much the increased efficiency and lower labour costs contribute to the reduction of cost of cream production.

Finally, the author does not mention whether there are other factors at work to effect the price of cream. Perhaps the government of Relannian currently mandates a quality check of milk products, which will surely burden farms with extra cost. Or maybe the price of cow forage has surged dramatically over the past few years, adding extra cost for the farmers.

If these cases are true, then the author's claim that the farmers are inflating the price of cream will be significantly weakened.

To recapitulate, it is wrong to criticize farmers for intentionally inflating price without knowing their actual cost. We cannot infer that their actual cost in on the decline even with the evidence given in the letter.

Unless more concrete evidence can rule out these alternative explanations, the author's argument is untenable.