Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Parents seem to be more solicitous about the grade of their school-age children than ever before. In an effort to improve their grades, parents have adopted nearly every conceivable approaches, including offering financial rewards for good grades. Efficacious as it might sound to some students, I am deeply skeptical about this idea in so far as it inadvertently inculcates the cult of gold worship that may prompt misconduct among school children, given their inability to distinguish between what's right and wrong. A more plausible idea, however, would be to reward high grades in a non-pecuniary way, like complimentary remarks, waiver of housework duties or else.

Granted, offering money for good grades can have its merits. Fantasizing about the tempting reward for good grade, children are very likely to be more motivated to strive for excellence in their school work. A handsome sum of money for each high grade can even turn the most mischievous children into swots cramming for exams. Yet potentially high mark children get in school is the only advantage this incentive can offer.

If children indeed achieve a good grade, consequent rewards seems delightful to both parents and children. But more often than not, the situation is less desirable. Children might not achieve a relatively good grade despite their continuous effort to study diligently. Therefore, such incentive is more likely to frustrate than to facilitate children in their learning, setting up an unattainable goal over which children will eventually despair.

Although grown-ups all understand that people study hard for the sake of their own future, children on the contrary cannot grasp such wisdom. Rewarding good grades with money mislead children into believing that the only purpose for their industrious schoolwork is the financial rewards from their parents. And when such reward is forfeited, as it eventually will, children accustomed to these rewards lose the incentive to study hard and their grade will suffer as a consequence. In this sense, pecuniary rewards fail to turn children into active learners concerned for their own future, but profit mongers who only study for rewards from their parents. Parents rewarding children with money might desire a development in their children's ability in the active pursuit of high grade, yet a counter-reaction is something none of them would have anticipated.

To make things worse, it is possible that children under the tempt of money cross the moral bound in order to achieve earn a good grade. He/she therefore might engage in plagiarism, cheating or note-passing in an exam. If such is the case, incentive measures will eventually foster bad behavior among children, something none of the parents would welcome.

In fact, financial reward for each high grade stimulates children's greed for money.

Since children are unable to discern the moral implication of certain events, they unconsciously take their parents as exemplary role models, justifying everything their parents do. Under such context, rewarding high grade with money is tantamount to admitting that money is the ultimate pursuit of life. It may well entrench a sense of money worship in children's mind, viewing everything in the equivalent of money rewards in an age when they are supposed to seek other high-minded purposes.