Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

From my personal experience, I disagree with this statement.

First, if history courses are made mandatory for all students regardless of their majors or fields, students will then be obliged to choose history courses and pay for extra tuition fees accordingly. Hence this practise will definitely overwhelm students with extra financial burdens, most of which are already far too cumbersome even without compulsory history courses. And if any university should make history courses compulsory, not elective, we have to question the very purpose underlying such an inflexible requirement: is this for the common good or is this purely for the sake of money? It is highly possible that university will take advantage of this decision to rake in extra profits in the name of some so-called 'interdisciplinary development', which is not only unethical but also sordid. Therefore, I can hardly subscribe to this statement which might provide an opportunity for universities to rob students of their hard-earned cash.

Second, I highly doubt whether there are sufficient professors capable of teaching so many history lectures. Professors at this university are bound to give a lot of extra lectures if all students are required to take history courses, not just students from the history department. But who will be responsible for undertaking such a strenuous task? Professors at the history department are already very busy with their daily businesses, and they might hardly get around to giving extra lectures. Yet you can hardly count on someone with minor or no background knowledge about history! Even if qualified professors at the history department do find some spare time to teach these lectures, the quality of their lesson will also be seriously questioned in so far as they are too occupied to focus their effort on teaching. And if these cases prove true, students can hardly learn anything from a coarsely-prepared history class even if they sit in the classroom for hours.

Third, it is totally unfair for students to take history class whose major has little or nothing to do with history. For instance, if you are a student majoring in social science, then it still makes some sense if you are required to learn history given the immanent association between the two subjects. However, if you are a student majoring in computer science, I certainly see no point in taking a senseless history class in so far as it is totally unnecessary for you to learn history in order to become a competent computer engineer. And if students are deprived of their rights to choose from whatever they wish to learn, not from whatever they are required to learn, a clamorous outcry will come from them and this stupid decision will surely backfire.