Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The universe was built not only for mankind but also for other species and organisms. The prompt describes to situation on opposite ends of the spectrum whether we should protect the species or not at our expense. I believe that both the opinions have some merit and neither can be disregarded. Depending upon the type of species taken into account, a few examples are provided to support both the cases.

Many centuries ago, before mankind existed, various plants and animals used to live in harmony. With the evolution, man started hunting animals for food and leisure. Man also hunted animals for their greed where they sold various animal parts for clothing, beautification and comfort. This over the time, increased the risk of many animal species being endangered with a few animals going extinct. One such example is the dodo bird. The dodo bird prominently found in New Zealand went extinct in the 19th century due to hunting. This disrupted the natural ecosystem and affected the plants and animals in that habitat, who were either directly or indirectly dependent on the dodo bird. Since it is our wrong doings that endanger these species, it should be our moral obligation to protect these animal and plant species.

The natural ecosystem of our planet is built in such a way that every species is dependent on each other for their survival. A simple example would be, we humans need plants for oxygen, plants need animal carcasses for nutrition which in turns help with their growth, and other scavengers need those carcasses for their food. This dependent food chain is vital for the growth of every species involved in the chain. Taking one species out of the equation creates an imbalance.

Conversely, any government has the responsibility of catering to the needs of their citizens. Hence, their top most priority would be to deploy the assets for the welfare of their electoral. Using these resources on species can be considered imperative. Some species are at a considerable lower level threat of extinction and it would be futile to direct the resources towards them. The species that are going extinct due to natural calamities, cannot be given resources or protection because as per Darwinian principle, only the fittest survive.

In conclusion, owing to the moral obligation and need for self-preservation, species that are endangered by human activities or are important for our very well-being, should be saved by the society even if it requires extraordinary efforts. Contrarily, extra ordinary efforts are not justifiable for the conservation for those naturally endangered species whose extinction has either low probability or negligible consequences to the ecosystem balance. Finally, sustainable, not extra ordinary, efforts such as recycling, clean energy, etc. can account for the concerns raised by both the opinions.