Some people believe that success in creative fields, such as painting, fiction writing, and

filmmaking, primarily requires hard work and perseverance. Others believe that such

success mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Many successful figures in creative fields start their career at a very young age. This may be due to the fact that most talented individuals show their talent from their infant years. However, it may be that only those who start developing their talent through practice and learning from a very young age, thus having more time to become more adept, are the ones who become successful in the future. While having innate talent is important to become successful, it is no more important in creative fields than it is in other academic or practical fields. Only by hard work and perseverance to continuously develop and sharpen an existing talent one can obtain abilities to show that talent to other people and become acknowledged for his talent, thus being a prominent figure in the field.

It is understandable some may think that innate talent is the main factor in determining who will be successful in creative fields. It is true that even the lessons from the most famous teachers can't teach the ability to create an original masterpiece. Unlike academic fields where learning existing theories is the most important work that has to be done before even thinking of being creative and coming up with an original theory, it is possible for one to take a shortcut. For instance, a seven-year-old who never had drawing lessons can draw a picture and it may be acknowledged by many people as beautiful, leading to the picture being evaluated at thousands of dollars.

However, success can't be achieved unless others acknowledge the value of one's work. Learning and practicing can provide means to show the existing talent in a way that people can understand. For example, f J.K.Rowling couldn't use enough vocabulary and write elaborate sentences that can deliver the complicated world of wizards to the readers, it is hard to envision her success. While her creativity may have been something that she is born with, her writing skills must have come from practice and hard work.

Moreover, the ability to persevere through the process of learning and creating work until it can be acknowledged is important as well. Especially in creative fields, it is very rare to expect that someone new to the field will achieve immediate success just because his work is outstanding. Many artists and musicians get acknowledged for their talent by the public at their senior years or even after death. Without the ability to persevere through the unrecognized period, it will be easy for a person, however talented he may be, to give up and move on to other fields.

In conclusion, while the role of innate talent can’t be neglected, hard work and perseverance is an overriding factor in determining success in creative fields. Only when a talented person tries their best to enhance their abilities he will have a chance to be recognized by others and achieve success.