"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Sense of cooperation is an important factor in becoming a good leader. A leader who is competitive but lack a sense of cooperation sounds like a recipe for trouble within companies or political arena. Nevertheless, the claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for any field is to instill in them a sense of cooperation instead of competition is too simplistic. Wanting to achieve better economic growth and wellness of its people can be a great motivation for a political leader to come up with brilliant policies for people, and trying to become the most successful company within an industry can motivate a company leader to work harder. A leader that lacks a sense of competition will have as much motivation to do so.

Some might argue that a sense of cooperation is the most crucial factor for a leader to have in order to make the society a better place. Instead of competing with other companys trying to hog all the profit within an industry, a CEO may cooperate with smaller companies to share ideas and achieve a win-win result. However, while achieving a larger good for the society as a whole is important, a great leader should care about the wellness of his people before being philanthropic.

President Trump of the United States can be seen as a president who lacks a sense of cooperation while he is always eager to win other nations and political counterparts. While he seems adamant and nonsense sometimes, he is a successful entrepreneur and statistical results show that the U.S is economically flourishing. While it is true that he is also a cause of many international issues such as trade wars and immigration issues, he may be considered a great leader by many U.S citizens who are benefitting from economic wellness.