Some people claim that a nation's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state.
Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.
Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your
reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of
the views presented.
A nation's economy largely depends on the taxes;the imports and exports across the world. The government has to look for
the appropriate sources for generation of revenue for the functioning of the country. Every nation has some of the wilderness
area available in their country which is debatable whether to use it or let it remain in the natural state.If we allow to
leave it in its natural place there wouldnot be much benefit to the government as well as the people, but otherwise we can
use in a resourceful manner and make good use of it.
Wilderness area like wastelends, barren lands, inhabitable areas, boglands etc. may come under this categories.
Various methods to earn revenue from these inhabitable lands can be from the land taxation, converting a barren land to
tourist spot and earning money from it ,providing employment, converting these wastelands to the wetlands to
tackle a raft of problems associated with the environmental issues. These lands are not used in useful manner but are
deteriorated day by day.
These inhabitable areas can be used to generated land tax value if proper taxation policies can be made and implemented.
For example: any factions of people holding a land with no work being carried on the area has to pay the tax for destroying
the property or they have to sell it to the government if they have no utilisation of the land. An area cannot be kept vacant.
This will allow the govenrmnet to have a source of income.
Some of these areas can be of national importance as they may be holding highly valuable ancient and prehistoric features and
valuable information for the study of the history. For example: Indus valley civilization, the pyramids of egypts and many
more places. These areas required to be preserved and protected but at the same time can be used as a tourist destination and
a source of income for the govrnement and they can be prevented from being destroyed as well. These palces will also help to
genrated some daily wages for the nearby inhabitants through tourism and will also attract the attention of the government to carry
out more reforms in the area.
These areas can also be utilised to overcome some of the critical environmental issues like controlling the greenhouse gas
emissions (carbon dioxide , methane), if these lands can be converted to the the wetlands they can also help in regulating the floods,
they cna also help to reduce the heat islands in the urban areas therby maintaining the temperature over the city and so on.
Therefore,these benefits from the wilderness areas can be of high importance to the nation and can becoem a great source of
income as well as environmental crisis protector. Some may be using these lands as the dumping sites and may have changed into the
landfill sites, thus it would be benefical if teh government take the control over such lands and utilisie them efficently.