The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The letter to the editor of Balmer Island Gazette stating the cause and trying to provide a solution to the accidents by mopeds especially during the summer months. This letter has many flaws and is ambiguous.

It is not clear what is the location of the Balmer Island ; where is it situated near the tropics or close to the equator. It is very difficult to say what kind of weather and climate this area experiences. Its is said here that population increase to 100,000; the quantification is not justified; it may or may not be due to the inflow of the nearby people due to some business or is it a tourist destination and receiving maximum incomings. It is also claimed that mopeds serves as the most important form of transportation and accidents are happening due to increase in number of population during summer months. The cause of accidents any be due to the faulty moped or conditions of the moped is not upto the mark. Instead the should be a provision of checking the working conditions of the moped. They may have become obsolete due to the long usage.

The cause of accidents can also be that traffic rules are not followed in the island properly and no regulations are there to maintain it. The writer is recommending to limit the number of moped rented everyday to 25 instead of 50. The quantification of moped is not explained by and how can only decreasing it by half the number will sufficient to decrease the number of moped-pedestrian confluence. The number of accident by decrease by 50 percent annually this number do not adds upto the given data. Many essential information is missing in the letter like what is the number of residents in the area, who all are the pedestrians which are hit by the moped whether they are children or old people, the other modes of transportations are not available in area and what are the reasons.

It is also stated that the same rule was followed in the Seaville’s town. It is not discussed what is the basis of comparing it with the Seaville’s town and how can the policy used there will also help to solve the problem in the island.