Students

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the universities should encourage the students to take the field that they are interested in. Indisputably, some could say that it is not always wise to mix education with passion. Nevertheless, I mostly agree that students should be encouraged to take the courses which they are interested in than the course which follows the trend. This above claim will be supported by two reasons below.

First of all, it can be easily predicted that today's boom in the profession is not very likely to stay in boom forever. I would like to point out, by following something which you're not interested will not be very effective in the longer run. To illustrate this with an example, During the 90s, when nuclear engineering was at its pinnacle stage, everybody believed that it is the clear path to be successful but history tells us something very different. Due to the peace initiative by the UN, which forbid the nations to develop nuclear weapons, the nuclear engineering has then reached its lowest point. Hypothetically, if someone from 90s, who had more interest in computer engineering just for the job security picked up nuclear engineering -- has missed his opportunity of life. In this circumstance, it is obvious, one has to pursue his interest than to go by the usual trend. Thus, it provides evidence that college should encourage the student to choose the courses of their likings.

Furthermore, choosing something which the students are interested can help them be more efficient in their respective field. For example, Jon, a talented music artist, who forced himself to get into the IT industry for just the sake of money and job security. Day and day just sitting on his desk and imagining how he would great he could have been as a musician clearly does not help him to do his job better -- which will also not let him grow in his professional life. Whereas, had he been a musician, he could have been in a greater position, at the least, a life without regrets. Hence, this above evidence demonstrates how important it is to select the course you like.

Although, some could argue that, following the passion will always not lead to glory. It can be true in some cases, especially, when the particular student has short term obligations to take care of. In this case, if by following the passion of his field will not support him financially, it is not suggested to do so. But in most of the cases, following the interests has found to be more efficient.

To conclude, although some believe that it is always not the best idea to follow your passion in education with the support of my reasons above it is safe to say that in most cases, following the field of the student's liking will lead to better opportunities in the long run.