It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

“One day you will leave this world behind, so live a life you will remember”, A hook line from a famous song by Avicci. Although being a dance-pop number, this particular line is so deep with its intention. A lot of things can influence us from living a life that we deserve-- For example, being a slave to the “tag”, which our social groups give us. A lot can be related to the prompt for this essay. I believe that one must not be defined by the identification given by the social groups, which will be supported by two strong reasons.

First of all, It is known that every single one of us is unique in our own ways. Every one of us will difference inferences about life. This can be backed up with the famous saying, “None of the fingers are similar” though this might all seem irrelevant to the topic, it has more meaning to it than one can imagine. By obtaining this social “tag”, we are limited. Our entire perception of life is confined to this tag. To illustrate with an example, Aaryan, son of a business Tycoon, is a great singer, who has always aspired to become a musician. But the society or the “social groups” always expected him to follow his footsteps. It was his so call social “tag”, and he happened to the prisoner of this tag. Just like how they expected, he did follow his dad’s footsteps but he was never as successful as his father ever was. It was because of his limited perspective of life which caused by this go called social tags.

Secondly, Being the fictional character of our own play. As the spiderman said “With great power, comes great responsibility” I’d just like to modify it a little by saying, with great expectations, comes the greater responsibility. Expectation comes with a big parcel. In order for us to embrace the identification given by the social groups. For instance, Imagine the life of a mayor, he is always under the magnifying glass of the media and the public. And everybody is very quick to give identification to him. Little did they know, he was nothing like how they imagined him to be. The public was very sure that the mayor is very social, whereas he was not. They thought him to be very emotional, which surely he is not. Just because he was expected, he had to be at the gathering, befriending the ones who he doesn’t want to. This makes him a fictional character of his own play. One more reason why it is not advised to let the identification given by the social groups to mold us.

Although, it is not always a bad thing. It sometimes helps us achieve the best version of ourselves. Imagine a scenario, where the society identifies you as magnanimous and generous. It definitely motivates you to be the best version of yourselves.

To conclude, the prompt itself is very deep and this essay is just merely a small contribution to the very big picture. With that said, I strongly urge that nobody should limit their identification for social expectations.