Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Knowledge is the key to success.”

Although the above idiom is deep and meaningful, it still leaves out an important aspect. If given a chance, I would like to modify it as: “The key to success depends on how you perceive knowledge”. This whole idea revolves around the given prompt. I mostly agree with the prompt’s argument. Students should always question their knowledge to get a better understanding, which will be backed up by two reasons below.

Firstly, By not taking knowledge as it is taught to them, they have the chance to help them grow; to push boundaries. Almost nothing is certain in this world -- Centuries ago, The Earth was thought to be flat until someone questioned its validity and provided with a piece of better evidence that it is not. This was only achieved by questioning the once world-renowned fact. My perception is also backed up by the current education system. The education system is evolving every single day to keep up with the current competitive world. One of the key developments of this education system is the “Interactive Classrooms”. Especially in a developing country like India. This initiative of interactive classrooms will help the students acquire knowledge like never before. The whole idea of interactive classrooms is the lectures have to be like interactions, where the students and the lecturer can discuss the topic. According to recent studies, this process helps students to understand in depth about the discussed topic.

Secondly, just by accepting whatever that is been taught hinders the student’s curiosity. The most powerful ability a student could fathom is the curiosity, the common trite of all the successful people so far. Imagine, if Thomas Edison or Einstein, just inhaled whatever that has been taught to them blindly, would they have gained curiosity or without curiosity would they have accomplished whatever they have? This provides a strong example for my argument.

Although, One can argue that sometimes just acquiring the knowledge as it is, passively, yields more benefits than to be questioned. In some cases, they are right. Imagine a kid, who questions every single thing which is been taught to him. Even though this example could sound silly, this can affect the kid more psychological level which could also impact his character.

Finally, to conclude, Just by passively accepting whatever taught will hinder curiosity and creativity in students. To build a world full of Einsteins and Steve Jobs, it is necessary for students to question when needed.