As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

One of the perks of being a millennial is to have access to a great amount of Knowledge. In this era of high-speed communication, we have everything in our finger-tips. But every now and then this leads us to think if it’s really a blessing or a curse. The prompt states a theory that the more knowledge we gain, the more complex and mysterious our thoughts become. I strongly agree that “too much of anything is good for nothing”, The following arguments will support this theory.

For starters, the abundance of knowledge makes us question everything. It allows us to over think and restrict us from doing something. For instance, Think of a talented musician, Though he’s very talented, he always questions art. He worries about the things like whether his mixing are on point is the guitars been tuned perfectly tuned or that slight “Hiss” (Background noise) in his recording affects the entire song. Instead of worrying about things like this, he should have put his art out for the public to get inspired by his work. The only thing which restricted him from doing so is the abundance of knowledge which made things more complex and mysterious.

Not to forget, The abundance of knowledge could also limit us to a confined intellectual space to an extent we become its slave. The greatest gift of Humans is their “Sixth Sense”, The one which is responsible for our innovative thinking. When star trek portrayed a communication device that looked like “Flip Phone”, people thought it was absurd to even think something like that would come to existence. Fast forward 10 years, it came in existence and went out of fashion so soon by something even better and far more reach. To make the impossible you may have to think “out-of-the-box” but while being a slave to knowledge will restrict you from doing so. It is ironic that the very same thing that knowledge aims to do is hindered by itself. Imagine if Steve Jobs was restricted to means of the rules and technology of that day we would never have smartphones today.

Of course, some could argue that “Knowledge makes us superior” I would agree to them as long as we consume the knowledge, not when knowledge consumes us. Balance is essential, Just like everything even knowledge should be taken in correct proportion.