In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

In the editorial from the local newspaper, it is stated that although Prunty County lowered its speed limit in efforts of improving its highway safety, its initiative has not turned out as they were hoping it to. In light of these events, Purity County has now decided to follow the footsteps of Butler County, who have successfully implemented their highway safety campaign five years ago -- by increasing lane width, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at the dangerous intersection. It can be inferred that the author believes that implementing these measures taken by Butler County, five years ago, will cast the same success on Prunty county. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three specific pieces of evidence must be collected and analyzed

First of all, Expecting a similar result in Purity Count for the measure taken 5 years by Butler County -- is a little too much to expect. A lot has changed over the last five years which could be a dealbreaker for this assumption. For instance, the economy, during the last five year the economy has exacted a toll. The raw materials required to make the highway extension would cost nearly double because of the increase in the tax for building materials. Considering these above points, if true, it could significantly weaken the authors’ assumption.

Secondly, even if the above implications of the assumption does not make a difference, A city is very different from B city. For starters, the population of A is nearly double than the population of B which in return implies, the number of commuters in city A will be more than that of city B. Also to be very specific, in light of the recent research, 80% of the working professionals of city A are making use of the highway to reach their workplace faster which explains the pattern of high speeding to reach the workplace soon. With the above implications, it can be said that the author’s conclusion does not hold water.

And finally, Despite all the points mentioned above, the argument still leaves many unanswered questions. For instance, how reliable is the survey taken in city B? How is the author very sure that the reduction in accidents in city B is sole because of this measure. The author fails to give more specific numbers about the accident trend in B for us to come to a conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, considerably flawed due to its several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the two pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it will be possible to determine if these measures will improve the highway safety conditions of the city A.